Damaging Chemical Burns from Tea Tree Oil, What Now?

Visiter

I have been using tea tree oil for a few years now for its anti-bacterial properties and have never had a problem with it so far.

UNTIL

I dabbed a bit over a cut on my upper thigh, and covered with gauze overnight. I awoke to see my skin had turned a dark purple/blackish colour in a perfectly square shape of the piece of gauze I had on, which absorbed the tea tree oil and spread it. A few days later, the skin peeled off, and now I am left with a weeping, open abrasion the size of a dollar...I have discontinued use, although previously diluted tea tree oil has always worked for me, until it basically melted this patch of skin out of the blue.

Is there a way to speed the healing/avoid scarring in open wounds of this nature? Has anyone experienced similar experiences with tea tree oil or chemical burns?

kind2creatures

...elusive dreamer
I don't use tea tree oil very often, but I have in the past without any problems. If it were me, after rinsing it thoroughly, I'd apply either natural vitamin E, you can squeeze it out of a softgel....or extra virgin coconut oil, both of these should soothe and help heal.

Arrowwind09

Standing at the Portal
I would apply a compress of comfrey and yarrow leaves over night. Make a tea, steep 3 minutes, drink it and apply the tea leaves in a compress secured with gauze.

mommysunshine

I would suspect the gauze having chemicals that reacted to the oil. Have you used the gauze in the past with the oil without any problems?

Visiter

Original Poster
I have used that sort of gauze before, but I am thinking that perhaps the area of skin I applied it to may be more sensitive? I always used the same dilution and was my go-to for minor injuries, etc. Could different areas react so differently as to cause THAT extent of damage, yet work fine on other places?:confused:

saved1986

In seaerch of spicy food